Bookmark and Share


OTTAWA, Ontario – June 17, 2015.  Last night, the Canadian Electricity Association (CEA) recognized three of its member utilities – Ontario Power Generation Inc., Brookfield Renewable Energy Group, and TransCanada – for their leadership in sustainability and innovation by presenting them with 2015 Sustainable Electricity™ Awards.

The annual Awards, evaluated by an independent Public Advisory Panel under CEA’s flagship Sustainable ElectricityTM program, recognizes companies that implement sustainable solutions to complex operational and strategic challenges.

“These awards demonstrate a high-level of commitment in the electric utility business to deliver positive environmental, social, and economic value to the communities in which they operate,” said the Honourable Mike Harcourt, Chair of the Public Advisory Panel. “I congratulate the winning companies for their leadership and for integrating sustainability into their everyday activities.”

“The 2015 Sustainable Electricity™ Award winners exemplify a transformative shift currently taking place in the electricity sector toward prioritizing sustainability, innovation, collaboration, and strategic partnerships,” said the Honourable Sergio Marchi, CEA’s President and Chief Executive Officer. “These characteristics will be important as we invest in the renewal and modernization of the electricity system to better serve our customers and communities across this vast country.”

2015 Sustainable Electricity™ Award Winners:

“These companies deserve tremendous credit for taking these bold steps and working to make this sector a leader in sustainability and innovation,” said Max Cananzi, Chair of the CEA Board of Directors’ Committee on Sustainability, and President and Chief Executive Officer of Horizon Utilities. “I congratulate them on their successful projects and hope to see more of these utility initiatives in the years to come.”

Click here to learn more about the 2015 Sustainable Electricity™ Awards.